Vivax Collection

BURRI public elements AG

2013

Product Design of a public seating collection in public space.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design

Photography:

Samuel Wimmer

 

BURRI public elements AG has been dedicated to equipping public spaces since 1903. DHDI designed and developed the modular Vivax seating system for this traditional company. It includes a lounge chair, a chair and a bench with backrest. Also part of the collection are a stool and a side table.

Vivax impresses with its classic, sweeping and timeless shape. The legendary Landi bench made of bent steel tubes served as inspiration for the design. Through product-spanning slatted sections and tubular sections, the various elements of the collection speak a comparable design language.

The wooden slats of the seating system are made of NATWOOD®. This is Swiss larch wood that has been treated with an innovative technique. Thanks to the process, among other things, the material properties improve and the wood becomes more durable. In addition, the wood has excellent gliding properties, which makes it easier for senior citizens to sit down and get up.

The elements of the collection can be integrated into public spaces in various ways: freestanding, with finished foundation, for bolting to site-side foundation / finished flooring or for setting on asphalt with special anchor.

Vivax Collection

BURRI public elements AG

2013

Produktdesign einer Kollektion von Sitzgelegenheiten im öffentlichen Raum.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design

Fotografie:

Samuel Wimmer

 

Die BURRI public elements AG widmet sich bereits seit 1903 Einrichtungselementen des öffentlichen Raums. DHDI designte und entwickelte für die traditionsreiche Unternehmung das modulare Vivax-Sitzsystem. Zu ihm gehören eine Liege, ein Sessel und eine Sitzbank. Ebenfalls Teil der Kollektion sind ein Hocker und ein Beistelltisch.

Vivax besticht durch seine klassische, schwungvolle und zeitlose Form. Die legendäre Landi-Bank aus gebogenem Stahlrohr diente als Inspiration für das Design. Durch produktübergreifende Lattenquerschnitte und Rohrprofile sprechen die unterschiedlichen Elemente der Kollektion eine vergleichbare Formensprache.

Die Holzlatten des Sitzsystems bestehen aus NATWOOD®. Es handelt sich dabei um Schweizer Lärchenholz, das mit einem neuartigen Verfahren behandelt wird. Dank des Prozesses verbessern sich unter anderem die Materialeigenschaften und das Holz wird länger haltbar. Ausserdem weist das Holz eine exzellente Gleiteigenschaft auf, was das Aufstehen und Absitzen für Senior*innen erleichtert.

Die Elemente der Vivax-Kollektion können auf verschiedene Arten im öffentlichen Raum integriert werden: freistehend, auf Fertigbelag/Beton mit Dübeln gesichert, eingegraben mit Fertigfundament oder versetzbar mit einem Spezial-Anker.