Weisser Wind

Restaurant und Zunfthaus Weisser Wind

2018

Conception, Corporate Design, Interior Design, Signage and Product Design for the traditional restaurant Weisser Wind in Zurich.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design
Alena Fabia Schwarz | Designer
Kurt Schempp | Owner
Nina Staehli | Artistic concept and art installation
Massimo Milano | Illustrations
Johanna Vogelsang (Ambühl & Vogelsang) | Colour concept and implementation

www.weisserwind.ch

Photography:

Alena Fabia Schwarz
Valeria Schibli

 
In 2018, DHDI redesigned the interior of the historic «Weisser Wind» together with tenant Kurt Schempp. The listed building from 1441 has a dining room, a theater hall, two smaller halls and an outdoor area.

The redesign also included the development of a consistent color concept. It was developed together with Johanna Vogelsang from Ambuehl & Vogelsang. We decided on colors that harmoniously combine tradition and modernity and show off special elements of the house.

Artist Nina Staehli created sculptures symbolizing the white greyhound – the eponym of the house – for the interior design project. One of them keeps watch at the «soul window» of the «Weggenstube» and lets the soul back into the rooms, a second sculpture stands in the restaurant.

In the re-designed premises of «Weisser Wind» there are also artistic works by our illustrator Massimo Milano to discover. His drawings tell stories about the listed house from the year 1441 and can be admired in various rooms. Massimo also illustrates a new menu for the «Weisser Wind» every season.

Our senior designer Alena Fabia Schwarz revised the corporate design for the «Weisser Wind». Since then, the CD holds together the different operational areas of restaurant, theater and products. The logo also received a fresh-up. The traditional greyhound is now running towards the present with the help of contemporary typography.

Weisser Wind

Restaurant und Zunfthaus Weisser Wind

2018

Konzept, Corporate Design, Interior Design, Signaletik und Product Design zur Umgestaltung des traditionellen Restaurant und Zunfthauses Weisser Wind in Zürich.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design
Alena Fabia Schwarz | Designerin
Kurt Schempp | Inhaber
Nina Staehli | Kunstkonzept und Kunstinstallation
Massimo Milano | Illustrationen
Johanna Vogelsang (Ambühl & Vogelsang) | Farbkonzept und Realisierung

www.weisserwind.ch

Fotografie:

Alena Fabia Schwarz
Valeria Schibli

 
2018 gestaltete DHDI gemeinsam mit dem Pächter Kurt Schempp das Interieur des Traditionshauses «Weisser Wind» neu. Im denkmalgeschützten Gebäude von 1441 finden sich ein Speisesaal, ein Theatersaal, zwei kleinere Säle sowie ein Aussenbereich.

Zur Umgestaltung gehörte unter anderem die Entwicklung eines einheitlichen Farbkonzeptes. Es wurde gemeinsam mit Johanna Vogelsang von Ambühl & Vogelsang erarbeitet. Wir entschieden uns für Farben, die Tradition und Moderne harmonisch vereinen und besondere Elemente des Hauses zur Geltung bringen.

Die Künstlerin Nina Staehli schuf für das Interior-Design-Projekt Skulpturen, die den weissen Windhund – der Namensgeber des Hauses – symbolisieren. Eine von ihnen wacht am «Seelenfester» der Weggenstube und lässt die Seele zurück in die Räume, eine zweite Skulptur steht im Restaurant.

In den neu gestalteten Räumlichkeiten des «Weisser Wind» gibt es ferner künstlerische Arbeiten unseres Illustrators Massimo Milano zu entdecken. Seine Zeichnungen erzählen Geschichten über das traditionsreiche Haus und sind in verschiedenen Räumlichkeiten zu bestaunen. Massimo illustriert zudem jede Saison eine neue Menü-Karte für den «Weissen Wind».

Unsere Senior Designerin Alena Fabia Schwarz überarbeitete das Corporate Design für den Weissen Wind. Das CD hält seither die verschiedenen Betriebsbereiche Restaurant, Theater und Produkte zusammen. Das Logo erhielt ebenfalls einen Fresh-Up. Der traditionsreiche Windhund rennt seither mithilfe einer zeitgemässen Typografie in Richtung Gegenwart.