Zürich-Bord

City of Zurich

2015

Product design of a kerbstone for barrier-free entry and exit of buses and trams. Added to the standard element catalogue of Zurich in 2015.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design
Alexander Horber (Tiefbauamt Zürich) | Project management

Photography:

Alena Fabia Schwarz

 

The Zürich-Bord was developed by DHDI on behalf of the Public Transport Zurich, the civil engineering department of the city of Zurich and the Limmattalbahn AG. The kerb enables people with limited mobility to access the public transport systems bus and tram autonomously and is meanwhile being used throughout Switzerland.

Head of Design Daniel Hunziker attached great importance to a solution that optimally combines utility and aesthetics. The element does not stand out from the rest of the kerbstone in terms of material, everything is in one line and there are precisely defined details such as the beginning and end of the kerb. Of course, the Zurich Board also complies with the Disability Discrimination Act.

By 2023, Zurich will have installed a total of twelve kilometres of the kerb. The object is listed in the city’s element catalogue, which contains a standard element for every relevant functional and urban space requirement. By the way, our Arbos Collection (vegetation protection) and the Züri-Kübel (rubbish bin) are also listed in the Zurich elements catalogue.

Zürich-Bord

Stadt Zürich

2015

Produktdesign des Randsteins für hindernisfreien Ein- und Ausstieg von Bus und Tram. Seit 2015 im Elementekatalog der Stadt Zürich.

Daniel Hunziker | Head of Design
Alexander Horber (Tiefbauamt Zürich) | Projektleitung

Fotografie:

Alena Fabia Schwarz

 

Das Zürich-Bord wurde von DHDI im Auftrag der Verkehrsbetriebe Zürich, dem Tiefbauamt der Stadt Zürich und der Limmattalbahn AG entwickelt. Die Haltekante ermöglicht mobilitätseingeschränkten Personen einen autonomen Zugang zu den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln Bus und Tram und wird mittlerweile in der ganzen Schweiz genutzt.

Head of Design Daniel Hunziker legte bei der Gestaltung des Zürich-Bords grossen Wert auf eine Lösung, welche Nutzen und Ästhetik optimal unter einen Hut bringt. Das Element hebt sich vom Material her nicht vom übrigen Trottoir ab, alles befindet sich auf einer Linie und es gibt präzis definierte Details wie zum Beispiel Anfang und Ende des Randsteins. Selbstverständlich erfüllt das Zürich-Bord auch das Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz.

Bis 2023 setzt die Limmatstadt insgesamt zwölf Kilometer der Haltekante ein. Das Objekt befindet sich im Elementekatalog von Zürich, dieser sieht für jede relevante funktionale und stadträumliche Anforderung ein Standardelement vor. Unser Vegetationsschutz Arbos Collection und der Abfalleimer Züri Kübel sind übrigens ebenfalls im Zürcher Elementekatalog gelistet.